I would like to be upfront about this.  The title of this blog is not my own words.  I borrowed them from a piece of artwork done by Janeen Koconis.  While her work inspires me on a fairly routine basis, we have only actually met once.  I was traveling with my family in Paris, and she had just up and left New York City in exchange for a more French lifestyle – not a bad choice in my opinion.  Janeen is Lynne Smith’s (my pseudo aunt if you will) sister, putting Janeen in a category similar to someone in your extended family you have never met because they live too far away or only visit during the holidays you spend with the opposite side.  But regardless, she had just moved to Paris and we were visiting so we thought we’d capitalize on the chance to meet up.

From the moment we walked into her apartment/studio I felt like I walked into a scene from a movie.  It was a picture perfect apartment complete with high ceilings, wood floors, a red chandelier, fresh flowers, an easel in her kitchen, and art scattered throughout.   We then went for a walk through the city and ate at a delicious, traditional French restaurant.  But quite honestly it was her personality that really left an impression on me.  The bold fact that she decided to move halfway across the world to a city where she didn’t speak the native language.  How we only briefly talked about me but I truly felt like she saw something in me and somehow conveyed that belief.

And then there is her art.  It is contemporary and modern.  Straightforward yet deeply meaningful.  I don’t know about you, but I tend to get lost in the abstract art forms (i.e. the profound symbolism behind a green line through a circle) But with Janeen’s collages of quotes, words, pictures, and shapes there is guidance.  It is upfront and personal.  Her work has this positive energy.  It encourages you; asks you questions; and offers up answers to questions you didn’t know you had asked.  It tells you to “Be-bop.  Be cool & be you.  Join the movement. Now is the time for spontaneity.”

She got her start making cards.  If you think receiving any personalized piece of mail is exciting, receiving one of her cards would be like finding $5 on the street, while whistling your favorite song, while walking home from getting a great new haircut.

But also she has these calendars.  The one from this year is easily the best calendar I have ever owned.  It hangs next to my desk and makes me smile every time I see it.  I rarely even use it for it’s intended function, but regardless something tells me I will be buy one every year she continues to make them.  I’d highly suggest them whether you think you need a calendar or not.

You can see for yourself by clicking here: www.koconewyork.com

So thanks Janeen, you make the world a better place.